Monday, April 29, 2013

Ron Massey Cup - Rnd 4 Match Review

The Entrance travelled down the F3 last Saturday to take on a Western Suburbs side looking to atone for two
straights defeats.

It was Wests who started the better, however, with Wests Tigers NSW Cup star Taqele Nayaravaro opening the scoring after a short side raid. David Attua landed the conversion and Wests were up 6-0 after 5 minutes.

The Entrance only took 5 minutes to hit back though, with a determined, burrowing run from Tigers hooker Troy Woodley paying dividends. Jake Fitzpatrick opened his account for the afternoon and the opening 12 minutes had yielded just as many points.

The Entrance were quickly in again, with former Magpie Rhys Pritchard showing a fantastic in and away.

Fitzpatrick was on target, the Tigers leading the Magpies 12-6 on 18 minutes.

Wests weren’t about to let their faithful down and quickly hit back with a left side spread allowing Tala Mapesone to collect his second of the season. David Attua was unsuccessful with the conversion, and The Entrance led 12-10 after a quarter of the game.

Wests were quickly in again through Fusti Toutai, who capitalised of a fantastic break from Nayaravaro. Attua was again unsuccessful and Wests held a fragile 14-12 lead.

The heat at Campbelltown was conducive to more attack than defence, and it only took The Entrance five minutes to find a way back into the game, with Jake Fitzpatrick sliding through some feeble Magpies defence to score. Fitzpatrick converted his own try, and the game was fast resembling a game of touch rather than rugby league.

Wests, however, had the last say, with Taqele Nayaravaro using his considerable frame to score his
second try, easily beating the cover after a break from Magpies fullback Jy Hitchcock. Attua failed with the
conversion attempt and, despite Wests scoring four tries to three, went to halftime locked at 18 all.

Western Suburbs were first to score in the second half despite The Entrance dominating the opening stages,
with popular forward Tom Morrison using his strength to pull defenders down with him in the ingoal to score
his first of the season. David Attua was on target and Wests led 24-18.

However, that was as good as it got for the home side.

Ten minutes later, The Entrance had their fourth try, with interchange hooker Scott Jones catching the Magpie markers sleeping to burrow over under the posts. Jake Fitzpatrick added the extras and the Tigers and Magpies were locked up again at 24-all.

The Entrance were quick to add to their total, with Scott Peachy capitalising on a bomb, dropped by Tuiniua Paiaaua. Fitzpatrick was doing it easy, guiding the Tigers to a 30-24 lead.

The final 15 minutes became a black, white and gold procession. Robbie Daniels and Brad Chatfield added
quick tries before Troy Adam showed enormous strength to find a way to the line. Fitzpatrick was successful with all three conversion attempts, and The Entrance and flown out to a 48-24 lead with eight minutes to play.

Robbie Daniels finished the second half demolition job with his second try after a neat backline movement for the Tigers. Jake Fitzpatrick added the extras for The Entrance and a 30 point win.

For The Entrance, Jake Fitzpatrick was a maestro with ball in hand, while the two Troys, Adam and Woodley,
got through plenty of tough stuff in the middle. For the Magpies, Taqele Nayaravaro was head and shoulders
above the rest of the Magpie side, with Fusi Toutai and Jerome Mose showing plenty of character on a losing

Next week The Entrance are at home to Guildford, while Wests head to North Sydney Oval to take on Burwood-
North Ryde United, both games on Sunday.

THE ENTRANCE 54 (Robbie Daniels 2, Rhys Pritchard,
Scott Peachy, Jake Fitzpatrick, Troy Woodley, Troy
Adam, Scott Jones, Brad Chatfield tries; Jake Fitzpatrick
9 from 9) DEF WESTERN SUBURBS 24 (Taqele
Nayaravaro 2, Tala Mapesone, Tom Morrison, Fusi
Toutai tries; David Attua 2 from 5)
Penalties: Wests 3 The Entrance 9
Halftime: Wests 18 The Entrance 18

Western Suburbs
20. Jy Hitchcock
2. Tuiniua Paiaaua
16. Tala Mapesone
22. Taqele Nayaravaro
5. Amanono Tovio
6. Nathan Rumsby
7. David Attua
12. Tom Morrison
17. Joel Jasmin
8. Dean Rysko (C)
3. Fusi Toutai
11. Jerome Mose
4. Mason Harrison
9. Matt Jones
13. Todd Makejev
15. Jamie Anyskiewicz
21. Jai Karam

The Entrance
4. Rhys Pritchard
2. Scott Peachy
3. Robbie Daniels
18. William Gordon
5. Harley Ridge
6. Jake Fitzpatrick
19. Jye Newton
17. Orine Toutaki
9. Troy Woodley
10. Ryan Dalziel
11. Ryan Jowett
12. Alan Munro
13. Troy Adam
8. Sinbad Kali
14. Scott Jones
15. Brad Chatfield
16. Sebastian Vourlos

No comments: