Wednesday, August 3, 2011


Wests Tigers will commemorate the 1961 Grand Final at the Sydney Football Stadium on Friday, August 5, as part of its pre-match entertainment for the clash against St George-Illawarra Dragons.

The 1961 Grand Final saw St George Dragons beat Western Suburbs Magpies 22-0. Earlier, the Dragons beat the Magpies 9-4 in the major semi-final.

Wests then beat Balmain Tigers 7-5 in a tough final to set up the premiership decider with the Dragons.
The two best sides of 1961 fought out the grand final after both teams finished equal leaders on 30 competition points after the preliminary rounds.

The Magpies claimed all but the first grade premiership in 1961, winning the reserve grade and third grade titles as well as the club championship for the second straight year.

To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the 61 Grand Final, players from the St George and Western Suburbs teams will be paraded around the ground prior to the NRL blockbuster between Wests Tigers and St George Illawarra.

It promises to be a great night of rugby league, celebrating the past and present.

1961 Grand Final Teams

Western Suburbs Magpies: Don Parish, Dave Barsley, Bill Brown, Bill Martin, Peter Dimond, Keith Holman, Arthur Summons, Kel O’Shea, John Hayes, Bill Carson, Mark Patch, Noel Kelly, Nev Charlton (c).

St George Dragons: Brian Graham, Eddie Lumsden, Reg Gasnier, Dave Brown, Johnny King, Brian Clay, Bob Bugden, Johnny Raper, Norm Provan, Kevin Ryan, Billy Wilson (c), Peter Armstrong, Kevin Brown.

No comments: