Saturday, August 16, 2014

Rnd 20 - Ron Massey Cup - Match Review

The Entrance did whatever they had to do in prevailing 26-24 over a desperately unlucky Western Suburbs side last Saturday at EDSAAC Oval.

Wests got away to the ideal start after just two minutes, a pass off a kick return going to ground, Ronnie Palumbo sweeping up the crumbs to touch down. Dayne Craig pushed the kick wide, the visitors ahead 4-0.

The wet conditions made the ball tough to hold, Luke McInnes going close for the home side on the quarter hour, but Sam Aiga was on hand to knock the ball loose.

Wests extended their lead at the quarter mark, with a try which defied the conditions, a bomb from Vieru Mapesone batted back, with no less than six passes strung together before Jerome Mose touched down on the opposite side of the field. Craig again pushed the kick away, Wests with an 8-0 lead after 20 minutes.

The Entrance was finding little to no success with their passing game, and resorted to their kicking game to apply pressure. The kicking paid dividends just after the half hour, a chip over the top finding Wests unable to turn quickly enough on the soggy surface, Alan Mulia Malau the first on the scene to grab four points. Dave O’Neil nailed the touchline conversion, bring the The Entrance to within two points after 33 minutes.

With less than two minutes before the interval, Wests sought to put on their own try from a kick, but the ball travelled dead. From the ensuing set, The Entrance showed the Magpies how it was done, catching the Magpies unaware as Alan Mulia Malau bolted through to grab his second. O’Neil hooked the kick wide, The Entrance heading to the sheds up by 10-8.

The Magpies came out full of running in the second half and took just six minutes to reclaim their lead, as a last tackle offload from Ronnie Palumbo pinballed around before Nu Akeripa claimed the loose ball to touch down amid protestations from The Entrance for a knock-on. Craig struck his first goal of the day to put Wests ahead 14-10.

The Entrance took ten minutes to return serve, a controversial penalty to The Entrance for a shoulder charge setting up an attacking set, Sam Fioni barging his way over despite Wests protesting a double movement. With the natives getting restless in the wet conditions, Dave O’Neil converted from alongside the posts to put the Tigers back in front 16-14.

Wests rolled the dice on the last tackle after a strong set off a Tigers knock-on and came up trumps, Jerome Mose nabbing his second by forcing his way over less than a metre inside the touchline. Dayne Craig brought the kick through as well as Johnathon Thurston ever could, the Magpies climbing back in front 20-16 with a quarter of the game remaining.

The Magpies were incensed by continued calls against them for high tackles, Rusty Bristow dispatched to the bin by referee Phili[ Sung for repeated team infringements with 19 minutes on the clock. On the ensuing set, Dave O’Neil snuck through on a last tackle grubber to touch down, the scores remaining tied at 20 with 17 to go as O’Neil failed to convert.

With five minutes remaining, Wests looked to set up for a field goal shot, but The Entrance rushed well, forcing Wests into a loose offload, Dave O’Neil swooping to claim the ball and go 90 metres to put The Entrance ahead. O’Neil was successful in converting his own try on this occasion, The Tigers leading 26-20.

Alan Munro voiced his disapproval to the referee over a knock-on call and found himself dispatched for ten. From the penalty, Dayne Craig found his way through The Entrance line to put Wests within two. Unfortunately for the Magpies, Craig shanked the kick badly, The Entrance hanging on for a gutsy 26-24 win.

THE ENTRANCE 26 (Alan Mulia Malau 2, Dave O’Neil 2, Sam Fioni tries; Dave O’Neil 3 from 5) defeated WESTERN SUBURBS 24 (Jerome Mose 2, Ronnie Palumbo, Nu Akeripa, Dayne Craig tries; Dayne Craig 2 from 5)

Penalties: Wests 7 The Entrance 11

Halftime: Wests 8 The Entrance 10


1. Sam Aiga
2. Tala Mapasone
3. Shawn Craig
16. Ronnie Palumbo
5. Jerome Mose
4. Nu Akeripa
6. Vieru Mapasone
18. Soni Paasi
9. Dayne Craig
10. Tunui Maurangi
11. Tom Morrison
13. Rusty Bristow
8. Mason Talolua

12. Hayden Johnson
17. Fred Tevago
19. Trent Jennings
20. Dwayne Lemafa


1. Grant Nelson
19. Dave O’Neil
3. Alan Mulia Malau
4. Brad Chatfield
5. Perry LeBrocque
6. Adam McInnes
7. Jake Fitzpatrick
8. Ryan O’Hara
9. Scott Jones
20. Sam Fioni
2. Harley Ridge
12. Alan Munro
24. Tyla Hepi

10. Luke McInnes
11. Shane Wooden
14. Matt Hardes
18. Ryan Jowett

No comments: