Tuesday, April 3, 2012

NSW Cup Round 6 - Game 1 Tom Raudonikis Cup Wests Magpies v Newtown Jets

The Western Suburbs Magpies will play host this Saturday to fellow foundation club, the Newtown Jets in Game One of the Tom Raudonikis Cup. Is it rare for a former player to hold so much admiration and affection at two clubs but that is certainly the case with Tommy who's deeds for the Magpies and Jets continue to live on. Tommy played for Wests from 1969 to 1979 and Newtown from 1980 to 1982. He also coached the magpies from 1995 to 1999.

The match will also see the two coaches, Trevor Schodel from Wests and Greg Matterson from Newtown pit their skills against each other for the first time in the NSW Cup. In a strange twist, Trevor is a former Newtown player whilst Greg is a former Wests junior from the old days, having played with the Berala Bears when Wests called Lidcombe Oval their home and is a relation to Frank Matterson who played in the Magpies first ever premiership in 1930 against St George.

The match also sees some former Magpie players in the Newtown team list- Kurt Kara, Andrew Pearn & Blake Williamson whilst Wests halfback and captain, Nigel Millgate is a former Jet.

The game will be played at Campbelltown Stadium on Easter Saturday, 7th April commencing at 3pm. There will also be two junior representative games played before the NSW Cup. At 12 noon South West Sydney Academy (SWSA) will take on Illawarra in the Harold Matthews Cup while Western Suburbs will take on the WA Reds in the SG Ball Cup starting at 1.30pm.

Team Listings

Western Suburbs

1. Zoran Watene
2. Sharlon Taki
3. Aaron Teariki
4. Michael Lekkas
5. Daniel Perkins
6. Michael La Manna
7. Nigel Millgate (c)
8. Todd Makejev
9. Dean Parata
10. Aaron Sweeney
11. Mundarra Weldon
12. Seffa Silafu
13. John Leiataua

14. Greg Davis
15. Daniel La Manna
16. Henry Iuta
17. Jay Maseuli

COACH: Trevor Schodel


1. Alofa Alofa
2. Adam Henry
3. Peni Tagive
4. Ben Loxley
5. Samiu Latu
6. Jack Littlejohn
7. Mark Kheirallah
17. Andrew Pearn
9. Daniel Mortimer
10. Mose Masoe
11. Jack Bosden
12. Nick Ehsman
13. Ahmad Ellaz

8. Isaac Maliota
14. Isaac Liu
15. Kurt Kara
16. Blake Williamson

COACH: Greg Matterson

No comments: