Sunday, October 16, 2011


Dear Members,

Another season ends and it will not be long before we start training for 2012. 2011 has had its ups and downs, but in the end the famous ‘Magpie Spirit’ lives on.  We formally record our thanks to the Board of Directors and Management of Wests Ashfield for once again being our PRINCIPAL SPONSOR. We acknowledge their munificent generosity. This report contains some interesting facts and information so I hope you take the opportunity to read through it.  It is good to see that another Wests Magpies junior; Matt Groat made his NRL debut with Wests Tigers this year.  We congratulate Matt on this great achievement.

Board of Directors.

Chairperson Mr Paul Dillon, Deputy Ms Julie Romero, Mr Dennis Burgess and Mr Bob Cairns. Each Director worked hard ensuring the Club remained viable in terms of financial stability and performance. I would also like to acknowledge former Directors Messer’s Mike Bailey, Ron Powell, Mick Liubinskas, Bob Ivison, Peter Mehl and George Downie who left within the past 12 months or so.
Other valued friends and generous sponsors.
Sydney Credit Union
Carney Spaul Marketing gear supplier
Prime Physiotherapy
Alsco Linen Services, Ingleburn
Pratten Park Magpies
Elastoplast’s strapping supplier
Fruit Lovers, Moorebank
Wests Leagues Club, Leumeah
The Whitlam Leisure Centre, Liverpool
Rigg Place Medical Centre, Bonnyrigg
Mr Frame, Ingleburn
Macarthur Ford, Campbelltown

Campbelltown and Liverpool City Councils, The Whitlam Leisure Centre.

We acknowledge the support of Ms Sally Pratt, CCC, Ms Michelle Treloar, LCC and the Management and staff, The Whitlam Centre, Liverpool.

NSW Cup.
Leo Epifania, Head Coach and Jason Williams, Assistant Coach. David Mc Ewan, Mark Cudmore, Mick Stierli, John Harbon, Noel Cummings, Valerie Mc Ewan, Bluey Schafer Jeff Aplitt, Charlie Tuxford, Linda Kitchen, Matt Ryan, Ian Phillips, Keith Hoare, Steve Reeves and Steve Hartas.  Ball boys Dean Woodley, Turoa Williams, Ryan Topolski and Ben Kitchen.  Club Captain Rocky Trimarchi and V/Cpt Mitch Achurch. Medical Team Dr Inanch Mehmet, Dr Arash Nabavi, Greg Williams, Daniel Wainwright and Tim Foulcher, Prime Physiotherapy.
This year the team record seven wins and one draw. The last five rounds pitched the boys against the Bulldogs (eventual 2011 premiers) Sharks (2nd place) Auckland (2011 grand finalists) Windsor (sitting one point outside the top eight) and Manly. They defeated the Sharks, Windsor and Manly, drew with Auckland with a loss to the Bulldogs, who they led until the final minutes of the game.  (In the last eight rounds we recorded 5 wins, 1 draw and 2 losses)  They certainly finished the year off strongly.

NSWRL NSW Cup Player of the Year.

When voting for the NSWRL NSW Cup ‘player of the year’ went behind close doors Josh Davis was leading the votes by 2 points. Good luck Josh.
NSW Cup Team of the Year Announced!

David Harris – second row.   Honourable mention Gus Aiga – wing.  Leo Epifania was in the mix for coach of the year.  Well deserved men!
NSW Cup players’ player medallions.  (# Players vote for these awards.)
R01 Puna Rasaubale/Rocky Trimarchi
R14 Mitch Achurch/Gus Aiga
R02 Gus Aiga
R15 Gus Aiga/Amanono Tovio
R03 No selection
R16 Gus Aiga
R04 Troy O’Sullivan
R05 Josh Davis/Josh Toole
R18 Amanono Tovio
R19 David Harris/Amanono Tovio
R07 Troy O’Sullivan/David Fifita
R20 Mitch Achurch
R08 Troy O’Sullivan
R21 Mitch Achurch
R09 Lance Siataga
R22 Soni Paasi
R10 Troy O’Sullivan
R23 Josh Davis/Mark Russell
R11 Vaha Pulu
R25 Vaha Pulu
R12 David Harris/Josh Davis
R26 Mitch Achurch
R13 Josh Davis/Troy O’Sullivan
Most points Rhys Lenarduzzi 62 (3T 25G) David Fifita 58 (2T 25G)
Most tries Andrew Everingham & Vaha Pulu 10T.  Most games Troy O’Sullivan & Gus Aiga played all 23 games.

SG Ball.
Jason Williams, Head Coach and Stan Presdee, Assistant Coach. Mark Nicholls, Levih Warby, Matt Hall, Col Harris, Allan Pham and the Reverend Tony Gibson. For and against record - 368 points for and 128 against. They had an outstanding season finishing as minor premiers, but with the sudden death system in place, their season ended when defeated in the first week of the semi finals.
Presentation Night Award Winners

Best and Fairest – James Tedesco.  Coach’s Award – David Nofoaluma
Australian Schoolboy’s and Wests Tigers NYC 20’s.

David Nofoaluma was selected in Australian Schoolboys to tour NZ. Since finalising their commitments with our SG Ball team, David Nofoaluma and James Tedesco have cemented positions in the starting line up for Wests Tigers 20’s.
Other noteworthy achievements.

Highest point scorer in the SG Ball competition.  Mitchell Brassington (Captain)

2T and 60G for a total of 128 points. James Tedesco 12T and David Nofoaluma 11T.  2nd & 3rd highest in competition.

Harold Matthews.
Ben Rogers, Head Coach and John McPherson, Assistant Coach. John Shaw, Warren Hall, Michael White and Adem Baskonyali.  For and against record -168 points for and 128 against. The boys also enjoyed a very good season, but with the same system in place, they were knocked out of the finals in the first week.
Presentation Night Award Winners

Best and Fairest – Maliko Filino.  Coach’s Award – Tom Harris
Other noteworthy achievements.

5T to Arthur Currie, 4T each to Maliko Filino, Paul Vaai, Sinapati Solio, and 3T to Mitchell Gough. Top point scorers Matt Harris (Captain) 24 points 1T and 10G and Mason Cerruto 18 points 2T and 5G.

17 Development.
George Zahra, Head Coach, Paul Mamo, Assistant Coach/Skills Coach.  Shane Sultana, Jim Sell and Warren Nichol.  The team played in the Albion Park Gala Day against Wests Wollongong and Canterbury Bulldogs. Over the Easter weekend, they traveled to Nyngan to compete in a carnival hosted by the Far West Academy.   These boys acquitted themselves very well in all games.

Junior Magpies Program.
Made up of local boys aged 13, 14 and 15 years.  (2 teams in each age group.)  They play against Penrith, Balmain, Group 6 and South Sydney.  Mr Ben Rogers, Wests Tigers Coaching and Development Manager coordinated this program.
Other important people.

Every Wests Magpies member, volunteer and supporter. Archives James Mc Whinnie, Alma Mc Whinnie and Craig Woodley. Club Photographer Grant Guy. Local Media Vera Bertola Cumberland Newspapers, Paul Haigh Fairfax Media, C91.3FM and Graeme Syznall. NSW Rugby League Bob Saunders, Jo Farr, Brad Preston, Greg Nichols and Dave Norman. Wests Tigers Messer’s Stephen Humphries, Tim Sheens, Grant Jones, Warren Mc Donnell, Ben Rogers and their media, accounts, medical, support and reception staff.
I personally thank Wests Ashfields Board of Directors and Senior Management for making their senior staff available to look after our Clubs finance’s and membership renewals. It would be remiss not to mention the support shown by Andy Timbs, Simon Cook, Peter Hardgrove, Angela Mc Donald, Chris Schubert, Lina Pruscino, Adam Follett and their wonderful catering and reception staff.

Yours in sport,

Stephen Reeves

No comments: