Sunday, June 1, 2014

Rnd 10 - Ron Massey Cup - Match Review

Wests survived a scare in the final four minutes to take down Cabramatta 30-24 at Campbelltown last Saturday.

Both sides started with enormous energy, with the highlight being two clashes between former NRL heavyweights Shannon Gallant and Junior Vaivai. However, it was Wests who got on the board first, Inno Inosesio crashing over adjacent to the posts, allowing Dayne Craig a simple kick to put Wests up 6-0 inside ten minutes.

Cabramatta looked to pressure the Wests attack with a quick line, but they left themselves exposed out wide, Nu Akeripa stepping his way through and swerving away from Shannon Gallant to touch down under the posts. Dayne Craig duly made it 12-0 after 19 minutes.

Cabramatta needed to score quickly to stay in touch and they did so, Pierce Sapsford going in on the left side after the Magpies’ defence rushed too quickly. Bobbie Goulding converted from touch, Cabra back to within a half dozen after 23 minutes.

Wests broke through some soft Two Blue defence with Luke Williams, but the cover defence held solid and forced a late pass from Williams, which travelled forward, Andrew Sultana denied the try by referee Chris Treneman.

Cabramatta were living dangerously, and relying on Shannon Gallant for life support, the fullback’s tackle the only thing stopping Dayne Craig taking Wests’ lead to double figures four minutes from the break as Gallant forced a knock-on over the line by the Magpies’ rake.

Craig was at it again three minutes later, this time the referee stopping the Magpie number nine, ruling a double movement. Cabramatta found touch and, with the last play of the half, hoisted a bomb, James Anthony spectacularly marking mid air and charging over the line. The kick from Bobbie Goulding was straight, the score level at 12 at halftime.

Cabramatta were pulled up for a forward pass to Aaron Teariki, denying them a try, six minutes into the second half. Wests took full advantage, Nu Akeripa busting through on a 50 metre run, allowing Wests to set up, Junior Vaivai popping a short ball to Mason Talolua, who stretched to the maximum to score. Dayne Craig’s successful conversion put Wests up 18-12, eight minutes into the second half.

Cabramatta weren’t going away and David Farkas opened the Magpie line up with a delightful dummy before Morris Highman took the tackle. Wests nearly pinched the play the ball, but Cabra made it in time, Brett Manning touching down on the second pass. An inch perfect touchline conversion from Bobbie Goulding levelled the scores after 58 minutes.

Cabramatta found themselves on the wrong end of a penalty for dissent, Wests marching downfield and taking four tackles before Shane Lalogafau bustled his way over the line. Craig split the posts from in front, Wests back in front by six with 18 minutes remaining.

Cabramatta were struggling to contain the Magpies’ speed at the ruck, and gave away a legpull penalty with 12 minutes remaining. Dayne Craig chose to kick for goal, the penalty kick putting Wests ahead 26-18 with ten minutes to play.

Western Suburbs continued to play with speed and energy, but overcommitted in defence, Bobbie Goulding cutting through to put James Anthony away for his second. Goulding converted, Cabra chasing a two point deficit with three minutes remaining.

Cabramatta needed the ball and sought to steal it, but that merely allowed Shane Lalogafau to bust through weak tackles and then go 60 metres to seal the match for Wests in the final minute. Shane Lalogafau was given the kick, but shanked it, 30-24 the final score.

WESTERN SUBURBS 30 (Shane Lalogafau 2, Inno Inosesio, Nu Akeripa, Mason Talolua tries; Dayne Craig 5 from 5, Shane Lalogafau 0 from 1) Defeated CABRAMATTA 24 (James Anthony 2, Pierce Sapsford, Brett Manning tries; Bobbie Goulding 4 from 4)

Penalties: Wests 5 Cabramatta 3

Halftime: Wests 12 Cabramatta 12


1. Sam Aiga
2. Jerome Mose
15. Ronnie Palumbo
4. Nu Akeripa
5. Brenton Cowan
6. Junior Vaivai
7. Andrew Sultana
8. Jarrad Szczudlo
9. Dayne Craig
12. Shane Lalogafau
11. Mason Taloula
3. Inno Inosesio
13. Sonny Bristow

10. Dwayne Lemafa
17. Luke Williams
18. Elimileki Taumalolo
19. Fred Tevago


1. Shannon Gallant
2. Brett Manning
3. Pierce Sapsford
4. Vinnie Uelese
5. James Anthony
6. Dave Farkas
7. Bobbie Goulding
17. Tifa Iuta
9. Saxon Fischer-Gray
10. Adrian Ha’hangana
11. Brad Croad
12. Morris Highman
13. Henry Taufaao

8. Mitchell Simpson
14. Jamie Blewitt
15. Aaron Teariki
16. Henry Iuta

No comments: