Saturday, June 21, 2014

Rnd 13 - Ron Massey Cup - Match Review

The five try Corey Brown show was not enough to stop Windsor escaping with a 28-22 win over Western Uburbs last weekend at Leichhardt Oval.

Wests struggled with the Windsor kicking game early, but it was a Windsor knock-on which gave the Magpies a scrum on halfway, Daniel Abou-Sleiman getting outside his man before sending Corey Brown away under the posts. Dayne Craig slotted the easy kick for a 6-0 lead after nine minutes.

There was plenty of pressure from Wests, but it was too much Wests pressure which oddly allowed Windsor to post their first try, a rushed defence forcing Liam Ayoub to burrow back through the ruck. Iain Riccardi tied the scores from in front after 18 minutes.

Wests were making plenty of ground out wide, and a Rusty Bristow break set up a chance for Sam Aiga to burrow over for dummy half, but referee Drew Oultram bewildered the Leichhardt crowd by ruling a knock-on in goal after 26 minutes.

Wests didn’t have to wait long for a second shot, as Chris Aunese-Scanlan spilt a Jeremy Marshall-King bomb cold, Daniel Abou-Sleiman picking up and sending Corey Brown away for his second of the day. Dayne Craig, though, pushed the kick across the face, leaving Wests up 10-6 after half an hour.

Wests’ defence started to look brittle and a back to back set allowed Liam Ayoub to slot a kick in behind the line which was put down by Wests, Kieran Croft on hand to touch down. Iain Riccardi split the uprights for a 12-10 lead, which the Wolves took through to the interval.

Wests had first use of the football in the second half and immediately spread it to the left, Corey Brown beating four defenders in a 70 metre dart to the line to register his hat trick. Dayne Craig was again off line, with Wests leading 14-12 just 55 seconds into the second stanza.

A dubious penalty for holding own in the play the ball allowed Windsor to set up an attacking opportunity after 53 minutes, and a short ball out of dummy half saw Hutch Maiava force his way over next to the posts. Iain Riccardi slotted the easy kick, Windsor ahead 18-14.

There were moves afoot to rename the venue Corey Brown Oval as the Magpies centre notched his fourth of the day, a rush of Jacob Folent on the last forcing him to pass wide, and Brown, appropriately, beat four tackles on his way over in the corner. Dayne Craig was having an off day, hitting the post with his conversion attempt, the scores locked at 18 after 59 minutes.

Wests sent the ball left again from the kick off and you can have three guesses as to who was on the end of Jeremy Marshall-King’s final pass to touch down, but you will only need one. Dayne Craig hit the same post with his conversion attempt for a four point black and white advantage after 62 minutes.

Wests were incensed after Corey Brown was penalised for a high tackle on Hutch Maiava, but from the resulting set, Liam Ayoub’s kick pinballed around, Ayoub scoopng it up to grab his second try of the day. Riccardi couldn’t guide his kick between the uprights, scores again locked up at 22-22 with six and a half minutes remaining.

From the kick-off, Windsor spread the ball right, opening up the Magpies defence, and Liam Ayoub backed up on the inside to get his third of the day. Riccardi’s kick was straight this time, Windsor taking their 28-22 lead through to fulltime.

WINDSOR 28 (Liam Ayoub 3, Kieran Croft, Hutch Maiava tries; Iain Riccardi 4 from 5) defeated WESTERN SUBURBS 22 (Corey Brown 5 tries; Dayne Craig 1 from 5)

Penalties: Wests 5 Windsor 5

Halftime: Wests 10 Windsor 12


1. Sam Aiga
2. Daniel Abou-Sleiman
21. Corey Brown
4. Nu Akeripa
5. Tom Satterthwaite
6. Jacob Folent
7. Jeremy Marshall-King
8. Elimileki Taumalolo
9. Dayne Craig
20. Dwayne Lemafa
3. Rusty Bristow
12. Shane Lalogafau
13. Luke Williams

11. Tom Morrison
15. Jerome Mose
19. Fred Tevago
25. Brenton Cowan


7. Kauri Aupouri
2. PJ Cartwright
3. Ryan Cusack
4. Solofa Silipa
5. Chris Aunese-Scanlan
6. Matt Boss
1. Kieran Croft
8. Hutch Maiava
9. Liam Ayoub
17. Mitch Clark
11. Iain Riccardi
15. Shenelle Haumono
13. Ryan Tramonte

10. Paea Pua
14. Pat Hollis
18. Moses Leota
19. Jack Nelso

No comments: